Archive for December 11, 2010

DECEMBER 11 PLEASURE

Pleasure for one hour, a bottle of wine.
Pleasure for one year a marriage;
but pleasure for a lifetime, a garden.

Chinese Proverbs

PLEASURE

The philosopher Epicurus defined pleasure as the absence of suffering. Imagine that. American philosopher Ernest Holmes believed that the ultimate goal of life is the complete emancipation from discord of every nature. Imagine that!

I ruminate on these ideas from time to time to remind myself to nurture the suffer-free moments in my life. It is easy to take a walk around the neighborhood or indulge in an ice cream sundae or spend uninterrupted time with a good book. And the benefits are immense. I have noticed that I don’t take as much pleasure as I could in the things, people, and places that I take for granted. For example, I see the sunrise over the trees from my bedroom window so frequently that I forget to marvel at it. It’s a pity, because seeing a sunrise makes it so easy to feel the Presence.

December 11, 2010 at 6:00 am Leave a comment


A Daily Journal for Spiritual Growth

Journaling offers a powerful way to record your spiritual growth. Writing in a journal calls on you to be more conscious of the insights that occur in you life. It gives you an opportunity to examine your beliefs and be mindful of your choices.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 200 other followers

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031